Minutes of the Ponca Public Schools Board of Education Regular Meeting December 16, 2024

Posting Date: December 12, 2024

The Board of Education of Dixon County School District 1 (also known as Ponca Public Schools) held a regular meeting on Monday, December 16, 2024 in the Ponca Public Schools library at 505 3rd Street, Ponca, Nebraska. The meeting was convened in open and public session and advance notice was publicly posted at the Bank of Dixon County, the Dixon County Courthouse, the post office, the school main entrance, published in the Nebraska Journal Leader, and given to all members of the Board of Education. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the agenda was kept continuously current and available for inspection at the office of the Superintendent of Schools. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

President Fethkenher called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m., informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted on the wall of the meeting room, and led the salute to the flag. Roll was taken. Members present were Monte Burki, Richard Dohma, Shawn Fethkenher, Phil Kramper, Christina Luebe and Casey McGhee. Others present were Supt. Brendan Calahan, Principal Allison Stansberry, AD Evan Colfack, Andy Stark, Secretary Lorrie Huston, and 4 visitors. Principal Stroud was absent due to supervision of the music concert.

There were no requests to speak before the Board.

The Ponca Education Association provided treats that were distributed by members Lindsay Burrell and Stacey Carnell.

Dohma moved to approve the consent agenda and Burki seconded the motion. Voting Yea: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Kramper, Luebe and McGhee. M.C.U. The consent agenda included approval of the agenda; the minutes of the November 18, 2024 regular meeting and American Civics Committee meeting; the treasurer's report showing a general fund balance of \$2,670,471.66, a depreciation fund balance of \$502,994.72, a bond fund balance of \$438,460.40, a special building fund balance of \$907.53, an employee benefit fund balance of \$5,202.75, an activity fund balance of \$320,827.71, and a school nutrition fund balance of \$125,299.18; general fund disbursements of \$73,515.79; an employee benefit fund disbursement of \$7.20; credit card payments; and the December payroll report.

Administrative Reports:

Superintendent Calahan reported on classified staff changes, research on website domain hosting and mass communication tools, the expiring concession stand contract with Pepsi, his work days through December totaling 115, and a visit by Nebraska Board of Education member Sherry Jones.

Principal Stansberry reported on participation in a special education session at ESU #1, the start of high five Fridays and 7-12 student of the month, the 12 days of Grinchmas for staff, the Floriculture class field trip to Oak Trail Village to teach community members about flower arranging, the Ag Career Days at Haskell Ag Lab, and the schedule for semester tests on December 19th and 20th.

Superintendent Calahan read Principal Stroud's report on the elementary student council food drive, the completion of winter assessments, third grade gingerbread house building, K-6 grades attending a movie on December 20th, pre-K through 2nd grade and 4th graders taking field trips to Gene Watchorn's Christmas light display, elementary music concerts, Santa's visit to Jackson elementary on December 19th, and elementary report cards being sent home on January 8th.

Activities Director Evan Colfack reported on All District football awards to Tucker McGill and Bryce Pokorny, Honorable Mention awards to Zach Luze, Trystan Bevelhymer, and Austin Dendinger, winter sports are in full swing, District One Act hosted in Ponca, gym floor refinishing starting December 21st, and

Fall Academic All State awards for Josilyn Martin and Isabella Eifert in play production, Connor Schamp and Tucker McGill in Football, Addison Stewart, Avery McAfee and Ellesyn Hrouda in Volleyball, Cora Jackson and Jaeden Hughes in Softball, and Ava Brennan and Addyson Chytka in Cross Country. The printed administration reports are on file.

Board Communications and Committee Reports: Members who attended the State Education Conference reported on several sessions that they attended.

Retiring Board members Shawn Fethkenher and Monte Burki were thanked for their years of service to the District and were presented plaques in appreciation for all that they have done.

The Facility Committee provided the Request for Qualifications document that they will be distributing to solicit proposals for the HVAC system.

Discussion Items:

The financial literacy report was given by Principal Stansberry.

Data from the ACT and NSCAS testing as well as the AQUESTT Ratings were reviewed. The AQUESTT ratings were excellent for all schools and also for the District as a whole.

Action Items:

McGhee moved to accept as presented the 2023-24 Audit by Dana F. Cole. Dohma seconded the motion. Voting Yea: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Kramper, Luebe and McGhee. M.C.U.

The resignation of Mary Swick effective December 10, 2024 was approved on a motion by Burki, seconded by McGhee. Voting Yea: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Kramper, Luebe and McGhee. M.C.U.

Policy 2008 Meetings and Policy 3004.1 Fiscal Management for Purchasing and Procurement Using Federal Funds were approved on a motion by Luebe, second by Dohma. Voting Yea: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Kramper, Luebe and McGhee. M.C.U.

Superintendent Calahan's evaluation was discussed. Luebe moved to accept the evaluation as presented for placement in his personnel file. Burki seconded the motion. Voting Yea: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Kramper, Luebe and McGhee. M.C.U.

At 8:15 pm. Burki made the motion to enter into executive session for the purpose of contract negotiations. McGhee seconded the motion. Voting Yea: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Kramper, Luebe and McGhee. M.C.U.

At 8:52 pm the executive session was declared over. Luebe moved to resume open session and McGhee S

seconded the motion. Voting Yea: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Kramper, Luebe and McGhee. M.C.U.
The next regular board meeting will be held on January 20, 2025 at 7:00 p.m.
At 8:54p.m., there being no further business, Burki moved to adjourn the meeting. Dohma seconded the motion. Voting Yea: Burki, Dohma, Fethkenher, Kramper, Luebe and McGhee. M.C.U.
Respectively submitted:
Shawn Fethkenher, Board President
Lorrie Huston, Board Secretary